Being charged with assault is a humbling situation. It is scary to know you might be spending time in prison or have to carry a criminal record for the rest of your life. A criminal defense attorney can help you make sense of the charges against you and the potential penalties you might be facing.
In Wyoming, assault and battery charges are classified according to seriousness.
Wyoming Simple Assault Laws
You could be facing this charge if the prosecution has evidence that you unlawfully attempted injury on another person. Yes, you don’t even have to make physical contact to be found guilty of this offense; the intention to cause harm is enough.
Simple assault is a misdemeanor which carries a fine of $750.
Simple Battery Laws
Battery is different from assault in that it does require some kind of contact. You could be found guilty of this offense if you intentionally, knowingly or even recklessly cause bodily injury to another with physical force.
Battery is a misdemeanor as well, though you can be sentenced to up to 6 months in jail along with the $750 fine.
Ref: WY 6-2-501
Unlawful contact is defined as touching another person in a way that is considered rude, insolent, or angry without intentionally using enough force to cause injury, or recklessly causing injury to another. This is another misdemeanor offense and like simple battery, you can face 6 months in jail and a $750 fine for it.
Aggravated Assault and Battery
The most serious of assault crimes, assault and battery is a felony charge that carries up to 10 years in prison. You could be charged with this serious crime if it’s believed you did any of the following:
- Cause or attempt to cause serious bodily injury to another, either acting intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly under circumstances that show extreme indifference to life,
- Attempting to cause or intentionally or knowingly causing bodily injury to someone with a deadly weapon,
- Threatening to use a drawn deadly weapon, unless in self defense or in defense of your property or another person,
- Intentionally, knowingly or recklessly causing bodily injury to a woman who is known to be pregnant.
Ref: WY 6-2-503
You could face misdemeanor charges and up to one year in jail for this offense. It is defined as doing any one of the following:
- Recklessly engaging in conduct which places another person in danger of death or injury,
- Pointing a firearm at or in the direction of another, whether or not it is loaded, except in cases of self defense.
Ref: WY 6-2-504
If you are facing assault, battery, endangerment, or aggravated assault charges in Wyoming, contact us to be put in touch with a local criminal defense attorney today.