No two criminal cases are the same. Every single battery case out of Indiana has something that makes it unique. An experienced attorney knows this and recognizes the need for an individualized approach to every case. Whether you acted in self-defense or if you acted out of anger, you need the assistance of an aggressive attorney who will stop at nothing to get you the best results possible.
Battery laws in Indiana can seem confusing and complex, particularly when you are the one facing criminal charges. You know there is a potential for prison time and you are likely under serious amounts of stress and pressure.
And it is surprisingly easy to find yourself charged with a battery offense in Indiana. Any fight or assault that you didn’t even start, or may have been mutual can get you arrested. The police aren’t always interested in sorting out what really happened, sometimes they just want to restore order and move along, and let the courts sort it out.
An aggressive defense lawyer will fight for your best interests, from challenging the evidence against you to requesting the charges be dismissed, they are your advocate when it seems like everyone else is against you.
Indiana Battery Law & Penalties
Generally, battery is considered a Class B Misdemeanor. This level of criminal offense carries up to 180 days in jail and fines up to $1,000. If you are accused of knowingly or intentionally touching anyone in a manner that is rude, angry, or insolent, you could face this battery charge.
Different circumstances surrounding your case could elevate the charge to a much more serious level.
Class A Misdemeanor Battery
If you are accused of battery that:
- Results in bodily injury to someone, or
- Is against a police officer, firefighter, or corrections officer
You could be charged with a Class A Misdemeanor. This means a conviction of this battery offense would carry up to one year in jail and $5,000 in fines.
Class D Felony Battery
Class D Felony battery applies in situations where:
- The victim is under age 14,
- The victim has a mental or physical disability and they are under your care,
- This is your second battery conviction against the same person, or
- The victim is a police officer, corrections officer, school employee, healthcare provider, or firefighter.
A Class D felony carries a potential sentence of 6 months to 3 years in prison and fines.
Class C Felony Battery
You could face a class C felony charge of battery if:
- It results in serious bodily injury,
- If it’s committed with a deadly weapon, or
- If it results in injury to a pregnant woman and you knew or should have known she was pregnant.
A class C felony charge carries from 2 to 8 years in prison.
Class B Felony Battery
Class B felony battery charges carry a potential 6 to 20 years in prison. You could face this very serious charge if:
- The battery results in serious bodily injury to a person less than 14 years old and you are at least 18, or
- If it results in the death of an endangered adult.
Class A Felony Battery
This battery charge is the most serious one possible. It is a class A felony, which carries from 20 to 50 years in prison. You could be facing this potential penalty if the battery resulted in the death of someone who was less than 14 years old and you were at least 18 years old.
Ref: Indiana Code 35-42-2-1
As you can see, Indiana Battery Laws get complicated pretty fast. Your best opportunity to understand the charges you face, and what you can do about it is to speak with an local defense attorney with experienced defending battery charges in Indiana.