Being charged with assault can often comes as a huge surprise. Whether you got into a fight at a bar, or if you were attacked and merely defending yourself, we can help.
Contact us to speak with a Colorado criminal assault attorney for a free consultation on your case, and to offer to assist you in crafting a defense strategy.
Colorado Assault Laws & Penalties
First Degree Assault
The most serious assault charge under Colorado law is 1st Degree assault. It is the charge applied if the prosecution believes they can prove you:
- Intentionally caused serious bodily injury to someone with a deadly weapon,
- Knowingly engaged in conduct which created a grave risk of death to another and resulted in injury,
- Intentionally destroyed, disfigured, or amputated the member of another person,
- Threatened a police officer or firefighter with a deadly weapon with the intent of causing serious bodily injury.
This assault offense is classified as a Class 3 felony and carries 8 to 24 years in prison and fines up to $750,000.
Ref: CRS 18-3-202
Second Degree Assault
Second degree assault is also a very serious felony charge under Colorado law. It carries 4 to 12 years in prison and fines up to $500,000. You could be convicted of this offense if the prosecution can prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you:
- Intentionally or recklessly caused injury to someone using a deadly weapon,
- Intentionally caused mental impairment or injury to someone with the use of a drug or substance, or
- Caused injury while attempting to prevent a police officer or firefighter from doing their job.
This offense is considered a Class 4 felony.
Ref: CRS 18-3-203
Third Degree Assault
This is the misdemeanor assault charge, the least serious of the group. It carries a potential 3 years in prison, however, making it still a serious offense.
You could be facing this charge if it’s believed you knowingly or recklessly caused bodily injury to someone. If you used a deadly weapon you only need to act with negligence for this offense to apply.
This means, for example, an accidental shooting could be a 3rd degree assault charge.
Ref: CRS 18-3-204
Whether you are facing one of these assault charges or another criminal offense in Colorado, you need to have a conversation with a criminal defense lawyer. Please contact us for help.