Assault charges under Connecticut law are complicated and depend on several factors. The manner in which the crime occurs, the harm that is caused, the identity of the victim, and the intent of the attack all play a role in determining how you are charged, and what penalties you could be up against.
Not only can you face assault charges for getting in a fight, you can face charges for even putting someone in fear. Under Connecticut assault laws, you can face charges and even charges of aggravated assault without ever touching anyone.
Connecticut Assault Laws
1st Degree Assault – Penalties
You could be charged with assault in the first degree, a Class B felony, and face up to 20 years in prison and fines reaching up to $15,000 if the prosecution believes you:
- Caused serious injury using a deadly weapon or instrument,
- Intended to seriously/permanently disfigure, destroy, or amputate someone’s body,
- Recklessly engaged in behavior that could cause someone’s death but results in serious physical injury,
- Intend to cause serious physical injury with 2 or more people involved, or
- Caused physical injury with a gun or other firearm.
This offense carries a mandatory 5 year minimum prison sentence.
2nd Degree Assault – Penalties
Assault in the second degree is a Class D felony which typically carries a 1 to 5 year prison sentence and $5,000 in fines. You could be facing this serious criminal charge if it’s believed you:
- Caused serious injury to someone,
- Intended to cause serious injury with a weapon other than a gun,
- Recklessly caused serious injury with a deadly weapon, or
- Drugged someone without their consent.
If you use a firearm in the commission of this offense there is a mandatory minimum 1 year in prison.
3rd Degree Assault – Penalties
Assault in the third degree is considered a Class A misdemeanor and usually carries up to one year in prison and $2,000 in fines. However, if a firearm is used in the commission of the offense, there is a one year mandatory minimum sentence. You could face this charge for:
- Intentionally causing physical injury to someone,
- recklessly causing serious physical injury to someone, or
- Negligently causing physical injury with a deadly weapon.
All assault charges and potential sentences may be elevated if they are committed against certain people including pregnant women, law enforcement officials, employees of the Department of Corrections, or disabled.
Ref: CT. Penal Law 53a-59 Assault
Facing assault charges in Connecticut is a serious matter. If you are up against the state of Connecticut and unsure of where to turn, speak to an experienced local defense lawyer today.